top of page
South Carolina US state flag with big folds waving close up under the studio light indoors

2023 Award Winners


The South Carolina Coroners Association is pleased to announce the winners for the 2023 SCCA Awards. These awards recognize outstanding individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of death investigation in South Carolina. We want to congratulate the following winners:


Coroner of the Year:
Kandy Kelley, Pickens County




















Deputy Coroner of the Year:
Jonathan Lawson, Spartanburg County (No Picture Available)

Sue Townsend Award:

Robbie Baker, Sumter County












Karla Knight-Deese, Lancaster County

















Rising Star Award:

Kayla Bledsoe, Calhoun County












SCCA Champion of the Year:

Dr. Demetra Garvin, Forensic Science Network














We want to thank all the nominees  and winners for their hard work and dedication to the field of death investigation in South Carolina. The winners were announced at the 2023 SCCA Annual Conference from June 5-8 at the Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grand Dunes.

A special thank you to the 2023 SCCA Awards Committee Members for their hard work and dedication.  The committee members include Coroner Rusty Clevenger from Spartanburg County (Chair), Deputy Coroner John James from Chesterfield County, Deputy Coroner Kelly Nevill from Charleston County, and Ret. Coroner Rae Wooten, as well as Kris Eilliot from Bio-One.

Once again, congratulations to all the nominees, and thank you for your commitment to excellence in death investigations in South Carolina.

bottom of page